Cherry + Heering = Cheering.

Cherry Heering is another ingredient that I’m late to the party in utilizing. It’s a Danish cherry liqueur used in many classic cocktails including the Singapore Sling, Blood & Sand and one of my favorites, Remember the Maine.

When approaching the creation of a Heering cocktail, I decided first that my base spirit would be gin. Originally, I used what we call around here the Boudreau ratio. While the results were pleasing, I found it didn’t quite fill my cocktail glasses and coupes quite enough.  I also tried Punt e Mes as the vermouth component. Creating the drink in July, this proved a bit too wintry. (Remind me to try it again in 6 months.) I thought dry vermouth, but I didn’t want a cherry flavored martini. My solution was to go the perfect route, which in cocktails is equal parts sweet and dry vermouth. Hence:

Perfect Hearing Perfect Hearing
2 oz London dry gin (Bombay Dry)
½ oz sweet vermouth (Martini & Rossi Rosso)
½ oz dry vermouth (Martini & Rossi Extra Dry)
2 teaspoons Cherry Heering
Stir with ice, strain into a chilled cocktail glass and garnish with orange peel. 

Leave a comment