Rye and Amaro are friends.

Rye is my favorite cocktail base spirit. (Bourbon is my preferred sippin’ spirit, followed by a nice reposado tequila.) My love for bitterness is also well documented.

Rye and amari blend beautifully together in cocktails. While the Toronto is one of my favorites, a recent internet booze order gave me some new options with which to play. I think rye, amaro, a sweetener, and  a couple dashes of bitters are a recipe for success. The ratios vary due to the bitterness and intensity of the amaro. My favorite creation thus far (with more to come):
IMG_1398-1
Sicilian Defense
2oz high proof rye (Wild Turkey or Rittenhouse)
1/2oz Averna
1 barspoon simple syrup
3 dashes Regan’s orange bitters
Stir with ice. Strain into a cocktail glass. Garnish with a twist of lemon peel.


Leave a comment