Jalapeño Infused Tequila Cocktails

Wow. I like spicy and think it’s an underutilized cocktail flavor, but this batch of jalapeño infused tequila has serious heat. Next time, I’ll remove the seeds from half the peppers to decrease spiciness and infuse longer to increase the actual chile flavor.

I made two of my go-to tequila cocktails for the Missus and myself with mixed results.

Spicy MargaritaSpicy Margarita
1½oz jalapeño infused tequila
1oz Cointreau
½oz fresh squeezed lime juice
Shaken vigorously with ice and strained into a chilled cocktail glass.
Salted rim and lime wedge optional.

I’m not going to lie. It was too spicy. The Missus and I got a couple sips into these and decided to pour them over the rocks. Lots of rocks. As the ice melted, they became more palatable, but also more watered down. Boo.

In order to finish this bottle, I’ll use half infused tequila and half reposado in future Spicy Margaritas. Or else serve them over crushed ice.

El Diablo en FuegoEl Diablo en Fuego
1½oz tequila
½oz crème de cassis
½oz fresh squeezed lime juice
1½oz ginger beer
Shake the first three ingredients with ice until cold. Strain over ice into a rocks glass and top with ginger beer. Garnish with a lime wedge or wheel.

Based on the El Diablo, this one worked much better. I had two.

[You may have noticed that I didn’t garnish my drinks with lime wedges or wheels in the photos, even though I mention them in the recipes. Personally, I don’t like my cocktails particularly tart or acidic, which is all a lime wedge would add. Also, the proportions of spirits, liqueurs and juices were already balanced to my tastes. (Okay, it was spicy, but a lime wedge isn’t going to fix that.) I generally leave off garnishes that you wouldn’t eat (lemon or lime wedges) unless it adds something to the drink that is not in the liquids (lemon or orange peel twists, mint, cinnamon sticks.) Anywho, if you prefer a bit more tartness in your drink, by all means garnish away.]

I’ll continue to work with the jalapeño infused tequila, with more recipes to come. I’ll likely try a spicy Matar Escorbuto. Also, I’m pretty sure I’ll be doing a version of a certain savory brunch cocktail this weekend.

Leave a Reply

