National Rum Day

I’m not sure who decides when all of the National [insert spirit or cocktail here] Days are, but there seems to be one every couple weeks. (I’m not complaining, though I find it odd that as a country we’d celebrate something like National Cognac Day, a spirit that by law is made in the Cognac region of France. I’m guessing they don’t have a Jour d’Bourbon or if they do it’s probably for the Bourbon family which is the namesake for the American county and thus spirit.)

Anyway, National Rum Day came at a good time. Last week at Clyde Common, I had a barrel aged El Presidente. The barrel aged cocktails are always phenomenal there. (I enjoyed the barrel aged Negroni, a cocktail I generally find a bit too bitter for my tastes due to the Campari.) The El Presidente was a revelation. Though I knew I wouldn’t achieve the same smoothness at home as I couldn’t barrel age it, I had to learn to make it.

[I should say I'm not a rum aficionado. I don't dislike it, I'm just inexperienced with it. Also I find a lot of the tiki drinks daunting to make at home as many of them call for multiple rums which is a bit beyond my budget.]

Reading Jeffrey Morgenthaler’s article on barrel aging, I noticed the link to the El Presidente recipe by Matt “Rumdood” Robold. It’s certainly spicier at home, though this might be due to my choice of rum. Following the Rumdood recipe, I used Appleton Estate V/X aged rum, Boissiere extra dry vermouth, Cointreau and homemade grenadine.

The Missus and I have been enjoying these on the porch or in the yard during this heat wave, but I dare say the El Presidente will become part of the year round repertoire.

Leave a Reply

